Redink Awards - 2018 Winners


Marki Tully, recipient of the RedInk Lifetime Achievement Award, says Radio journalism should be resurrected in India
> Media owners say it is not a great business but there is money to be made
> 32 journalists receive RedInk Awards

MUMBAI, May 19:

To ensure freedom for the news media, it was necessary to ensure the financial
stability of journalists, and job security. It is only if a journalist is financially secure
that he can do his job with peace of mind, said Justice C K Prasad, chairman of the
Press Council of India (PCI).

Giving his closing remarks as the chief guest at the ‘National Red Ink Awards for
Excellence in Journalist’ on Friday, Justice Prasad said it was not fair on the part of
media owners to run down the appointment of Wage Boards for media employees.
Other industries such as cement and pharmaceuticals are all governed by the
Minimum Wages Act, where such law does not exist for newspaper employees, he
pointed out.

“An editor returning to his office only to receive a pink slip did not augur well for
the free press,” he said, adding that he had examined the balance sheet of many
media groups and found the profits they were making could easily support the
payment of Wage Board salaries.

Earlier, he emphasized that the job of the Press Council of India is to ensure the
freedom of the press, and “we are not here to regulate the media.”

Sir Mark Tully, who worked for over 2 decades as the Bureau head of BBC in the
subcontinent, received the RedInk Award for Lifetime Achievement’. In his
acceptance speech, Tully said he grew up as radio reporter, and he would always
prefer radio to television. Radio broadcasts gave a personal touch as “the listener
gets the feeling that the news reader or reporter talks to him directly,” he said and
recalled how at a village gathering in Uttar Pardesh, people greeted him as “a

Sir Mark, who was deported during the emergency, said for journalists credibility
was everything, and in today’s age they must learn to grapple with fake news. Just a
small crosscheck and verification of facts would help in giving the right
information to the society. He said public service broadcasting was a bolstering factor of a free press. Citing the BBC as an example, Tully said in his 40 years of
working for the organisation, he could not recall a single instance where he had
been asked to change or drop his news dispatch.

The RedInk Award for ‘A Media Start-up that is making a difference’ has been given to IndiaSpend.org, for its initiative in developing data journalism in India. The website has encouraged transparency in government policy, and has become an important and reliable source of information for both individual journalists and news platforms.

Faye D’souza, executive editor of TV channel Mirror Now, who was given the
‘Journalist of the year’ Award said her reporting was built on covering the issues
that affected the common man. Focusing on credible news without much antics
helped her channel stand out in the crowd and make a mark for itself.

“I stick my neck out to report not what politicians are saying but what hits the man
on the street, even as the entire media could be busy with irrelevant breaking
news,” she said.

A high power panel consisting of Vijay Darda, Chairman, Lokmat Group,
Raghav Bahl, Founder & Chairman, Quintillion Media, Anant Goenka,
Executive Director, The Indian Express Group, and Samir Patil, founder and
CEO of Scroll Media, debated the important and relevant issue of: Is there a
business in News Media’. Senior Journalist and Founder of IndiaSpend.Org
Govindraj Ethiraj anchored the panel discussion.

Most of the panellists agreed that news media was not a great business but there
was money to be made. Raghav Bahl stressed that as the scenario shifted to digital
platforms, a healthy business in niche areas was not difficult; however as the
business scaled up along with the number of brands, the challenges also increased.
He emphasized that the mandatory legal requirement in broadcasting for 51
percent Indian ownership had become a bottleneck to expansion. It was not a level
playing field as the law did not apply to other areas like print or digital.

The Secretary of the Mumbai Press Club, Dharmendra Jore, in his welcome speech
said this year the RedInk Awards had received a record over-2,000 entries. Gurbir
Singh, the convenor of the Awards Committee, said accusing the media of being
anti-establishment was foolish as by its very nature news media will always be anti-
establishment irrespective of the party in power.

Awards were given away in 11 competitive categories and 5 special categories. As
many as 32 journalists received trophies and Rs 1 lakh as cash prizes. The RedInk
Award for ‘A Media Start-up that is making a difference’ was given to
IndiaSpend.org, for its initiative in developing data journalism in India.

For details: www.mumbaipressclub.com

Final Winners of Redink Awards – 2018:

Business & Economy

Print : Sruthisagar Yamunan, Scroll.In
           Kabir Agarwal, The wire

TV : Sushil Kumar Mohapatra, NDTV India


Print : Santosh Singh, The Indian Express

TV    : Deepu Revathy, Manorama News


Print : T. R. Vivek, Newslaundry.com
           Aruna Chandrasekhar, The Caravan

TV : Sushil Chandra Bahuguna, NDTV India

Health & Wellness

Print : Menaka Rao, Scroll.in

Human Rights

Print : Radhika Iyengar, Al Jazeera Media Network

TV : Shone Satheesh, Scroll.in

Lifestyle & Entertainment

Print : Shamik Bag, Mint


Print : Rikynti Marwein, Highland Post

TV : Jainendra Kumar, ABP News

Science & Innovation

Print : R Ramachandran, Frontline

TV : Jugal R Purohit, India Today


Print : Shail Desai, Mint

TV : Smitha Nair, Scroll.In

The Big Picture

Winner : Vinod Kumar T, The New India Express

Runner up 1 : Indranil Mukherjee, Agence France Presse

Runner up 2 : Sibu Bhuvanendran, Malayala Manorama

Women Empowerment & Gender Equality

Print : Leena Gita Reghunath (Surabhi Kanga), The Caravan
          Shalini Nair, The Indian Express

TV : Moumita Sen & Ruchira Sharma, India Today


Media Start-up of the year : IndiaSpend.com

Mumbai Star Reporter : Yadu Joshi, Lokmat & Chaitanya Marpakwar, Mumbai Mirror

Journalist of the Year : Faye D'Souza, Mirror Now

Lifetime Achievement : Sir William Mark Tully


Mumbai Press Club
Article posted on 18/05/2018

  • Share This Story On: